About Us

The National Football Association of Swaziland NFAS was founded in 1968, the same year when Swaziland gained independence from the British under the Presidency of the late Harry Sibhaha Dlamini. History has it that the country started playing organized league football in 1973.

The NFAS thereafter affiliated to the Federation of International Football Associations (FIFA) and the Confederation of African Football (CAF) in 1978. The association eventually affiliated to the Council of Southern African Football Associations (COSAFA) in 1983 where Swaziland was one of the founding members.

In 2000, under the Presidency of Mr Adam Mthethwa, the NFAS hired a full-time Chief Executive Officer/ General Secretary to head the Secretariat of the association.

The History of the Presidency of the association appears as follows:

1976 – 1980 - Mr Juling Magagula. 
- It is worth mentioning that the NFAS affiliated to both CAF and
  FIFA during his term in 1978.

1980 – 1985 Prince Mfanasibili 

1985 – 1987 Mr Mbuso Dlamini 

1987 – 1991 Mr Ali Thwala 

1991 – 1993 Mr Isaac Shabangu

1993 – 2001 Mr Adam Mthethwa  
- It is worth mentioning that the NFAS affiliated to COSAFA in 1993 during his presidency. 
- It is also during this period that the NFAS hired a Chief Executive Officer/General Secretary for the first  time, to head the Secretariat of the organization.

2001 – 2004 Mr Patrick Kunene 

2004 – 2005 Mr Philemon Mkhaliphi 

2005 – Date Senator Adam Mthethwa